pf » Please do not go to this website!
April 27, 2005
Please do not go to this website!

Via Loose Wire - Someone has registered the domain googkle.com, the site attempts to install spyware, viruses, etc. But what I find more disturbing is F-Secure's (the company that found the site) description of the issue:
F-Secure staff has found a malicious website that utilizes a spelling error when typing the name of the popular search engine - 'Google.com'. If a user opens a malicious website, his/her computer gets hijacked - a lot of different malware gets automatically downloaded and installed: trojan droppers, trojan downloaders, backdoors, a proxy trojan and a spying trojan. Also a few adware-related files are installed.
The name of the malicious website is 'Googkle.com'. PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS WEBSITE! Otherwise your computer will get infected! We have reported the case to the authorities.
Note that if you go to this website your computer WILL get infected! The assumptions made in their article are a bit much, despite being quite detailed about what the site attempts to install. It is pretty clear that you need to be running windows, and also using IE to have any worry.
Why I really find this disturbing is because the average user has no idea that web sites's can't just install software automatically unless you have given them permission, or they are exploiting a bug in your browser. So this creates a bit of unnecessary fear for average joe.
The other thing is the PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS WEBSITE! that just invokes my curiosity.
Trackback Address: 336/9C4ED51E78552E31EA487D701F729376
Comments
On 04/27/2005 at 7:26:10 PM MDT Daniel SIlva wrote:
1
Actually it appears that gookle.com isn't the only domain they've registered, msmn.com points to the very same website ( just check the source code ) =p
On 04/28/2005 at 5:06:26 AM MDT Andy Jarrett wrote:
2
Well i've got Lynx on my windows PC so i had to have a look and i must say you're not missing much unless you want spy equiment, the V word (its a little pill - but your blog will through this comment if i say the complete word) :o) Or like me did you just want to see if your system is secure enough, or maybe to check if Firefox is even secure enough? As much as i want to know i know what curriosity did to the cat :o)
On 05/16/2005 at 9:39:53 PM MDT forbidden wrote:
3
i tried the website over and over but still it does no good... they (warners) are so full of them self. i wanna see what they do.. the site that is? but ya get that, probably fixed by now?
On 08/26/2005 at 4:50:25 PM MDT Mike wrote:
4
pete, you excel in Java it says. I have picked up java/classbuilder and java/byteverify trojans. if i run antivirus, it shuts the machine down...HELP!
- Mastering CFQUERYPARAM
- Google Code Search for ColdFusion
- Speaking at CFUNITED 2008
- Getting ColdFusion SQL Statements from SQL Server Trace
- CFSCRIPT Cheatsheet
- 3 New Image Effects for ColdFusion 8
- Googlebot to Submit Web Forms
- ColdFusion 8 Update 1 Fixes some Image Processing Quirks
Subscribe to my RSS Feed:
RSS
RSS
add to del.icio.us
Pete Freitag is a software engineer, and web developer located in










